Overview of the Dental Council
The Dental Council of New Zealand (DCNZ) is constituted under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (the Act) as the registration authority for the dental professions. The Act requires registration authorities to protect the health and safety of members of the public by providing for mechanisms to ensure that health practitioners are competent and fit to practice their professions. To achieve this, the Dental Council provides a framework for the regulation of the dental professions.
The dental professions regulated by the Council are dentists, dental therapists, dental hygienists, dental technicians, and clinical dental technicians. The professions include dental specialists and orthodontic auxiliaries.
The Dental Council is appointed by the Minister of Health. It has ten members including seven practitioner members (four dentists, one dental therapist, one dental hygienist and one dental technician) and three lay members. Members are appointed for a term of three years and may be reappointed for further terms but may not serve for more than nine consecutive years. Each year the Council elects two of its members as chair and deputy.

The Mission of the Dental Council

To provide public assurance that oral health practitioners are competent and fit to practise.

The Vision of the Dental Council

Standards are set and maintained for oral health practitioners to deliver safe and competent care to the public of New Zealand.

The Goals of the Dental Council

  1. Administer the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 consistently, fairly and effectively.
  2. Promote an organisation that is efficient, responsive and sustainable.
  3. Promote and communicate Council's functions to stakeholders and the public of New Zealand.
  4. Promote appropriate standards of oral health care.